Skip to main content


Showing posts with the label Wanaparthy


Pangal Fort

Pangal Fort is located at Pangal in Wanaparthy District of Telangana, India. Pangal Fort is one of the Famous Hill Forts in Telangana. It was built by Kalyani Chalukya Kings during 11th and 12th Centuries. The fort is spread across hundreds of acres with Seven Gateways. The Main entrance is called as Mundlagavini and is a special attraction of this fort. It was built with huge granite rocks. The ruins of the fort houses several monuments built with beautiful architecture, including Uyyala Mandapam and several water bodies. Many deadly wars had taken place among the dynasties like Bahamani, Vijayanagara, Padmanayaka and Qutub Shahis at this fort. The fort also witnessed guerrilla warfare during the revolted against the Nizam. The specialty of the fort is its area ad terrain. Spread across hundreds of acres of land in rugged hilly terrain with thorny vegetation, the fort area is guarded by seven gateways. There are some small ponds, rock structures and beautiful rock formations.

Khilla Ghanpur Fort

Khilla Ghanpur Fort is located in Ganpur village & Mandal, Wanaparthy District, Telangana State, India. This hill fort was built by joining two mountains by Recharla Padma Nayakulu and Gona Ganapa reddy in 13th century. This fort has witnessed many wars between Bahamanis, Vijayanagara Kings, Bijapur Kings and Qutb Shahi Kings etc. The cannons which still exist have been kept on the top most side of the fort. We can also see palace and ministers houses ruins.

Sri Ranganayaka Swamy Temple

Sri Ranganayaka Swamy Temple is located in Srirangapur,  Pebbair Mandal,  Wanaparthy district, Telangana State, India. Srirangapuram temple situated at an island formed by 'Ratna Pushkarini' lake and is renowned for the Sri Ranganathaswamy temple.  There is an interesting story behind this temple. It is said that the King Krishnadevaraya, Vijayanagaram ruler once went to Srirangapuram and was mesmerized by the beauty of Sri Ranganayaka Swamy Temple there. And then he decided to construct a Ranganayaka Swamy Temple in his kingdom.  Later, Ranganayaka (Lord Vishnu) appeared in his dream and told the king that his idol is lying in the kingdom and an eagle would direct him to that place. And it is said that succeeding day Krishna Devaraya followed the eagle and found the idol between Kothakota and Kanvyapalli mountains. The temple was constructed near Ratna Pushpakarni Lake in the kingdom.

Atmakur Amarchinta Samsthan

Atmakur Amarchinta Samsthan is in Wanaparthy district. The first capital was Thippadam valley. Later the capital was shifted to Atmakur on the left bank of Krishna River. Surname of the family is Mukkaravaru. 1292 AD : Gona Budha Reddy Sri Gopal Reddy Anchorage of Mukthal region. He was the real founder of the amarachinta samsthanam.      Pedda Gopi Reddy Chinna Gopi Reddy Chandra Reddy Ramakrishna Reddy Tirumala Rao Sahebu Reddy Emmedi Gopi Reddy II Contemporary  of Abdullah Qutub Shah who acknowledged his help in the war. Became the ruler of Amarachinta and Vaddaman. Sarva Reddy Helped Aurangzeb. Chinna Reddy Desai Saiva Reddy Thimma Reddy I Emmadi Saheb Reddy I Asaf jahi invaded Karnataka and sought the help of Saheb Reddy in the war and gave the title Savai Raja Bukka Reddy Lakshma Reddy Sheshadri Reddy Thatha Reddy Thimma Reddy II Somi Reddy Chinna Venkat Reddy 1803 AD : Pedda Venkat Reddy Balakrishna Reddy Soma Bhupala Sitaram Bhupala Srimanth Savai Raja Sri Rama Bhupala Savai R

Wanaparthy History

Wanaparthy Samsthanam traces its history back to 14th century after the Kakatiya kingdom declined. The successive Turkic Muslim dynasties, who invaded and settled in Deccan, found it ideal for Samsthanam to prevail. It was surrounded by three other Samsthanam. Wanaparthy was one of the 14 major Zamindari segments in Telangana in Post-Independent India. For administrative purposes the Samsthan was divided into two taluqs namely "sugar" and "Kesampet" under to Tahsildars. 1512 - 1540 AD :  Raja VEERA KRISHNA REDDY 1540 - 1566 AD :   Raja VENKAT REDDY 1566 - 1592  AD : Raja RAMA KRISHNA REDDY 1592 - 1625  AD : Raja PEDDA VENKAT REDDY 1625 - 1648 AD :  Raja INUNIDI VENKAT REDDY 1648 - 1676 AD :   Raja GOPAL RAO 1676 - 1691 AD :  Raja BAHIRI GOPAL RAO 1691 - 1719  AD : Raja VENKAT REDDY 1719 - 1746  AD : Raja BAHIRI GOPAL RAO 1746 - 1763 AD :   Raja SAWAI VENKAT REDDY 1763  -         : Raja BAHIRI GOPAL RAO 1781 AD         :   Rani Janamma 1781 - 1807 AD :  Rani

Wanaparthy Palace

Wanaparthy Palace is also known as "Mustafa Mahal" as a name for the advice of a Muslim saint. This palace covers an area of 640 square miles. This palace will now house the Collector's office and Collector Camp Office. The surname of the Samsthana rulers is Janumpally. Wanaparthy Samasthan traced its origin back to 14 century, when as the Warangal Kakatiya Dynasty crumbled, local chieftains established  their ascendancy over surrounding territory and divided it among themselves. After Vijayanagar Kingdom was succeeded by Bijapur, Qutub Shah and Mogul successive rulers had found it expedient to maintain 8 samsthanams as buffer states along Krishna river. Wanaparthy was bounded on 3 sides by other sammsthanams. In the time Aurangzeb, Wanaparthy became a feudatory of Moghul empire and of the Nizam as viceroy of that empire in the south. The Rajas of the Samasthans were closely associated with the QtubShahi kings.  The early Rajas of Wanaparthy kep