Wanaparthy District History

Wanaparthy district is a district in the Indian state of Telangana. Its headquarters is Wanaparthy. The district shares boundaries with Gadwal, Mahabubnagar, Narayanpet, Nagarkurnool districts and with the state boundary of Andhra pradesh.

It was carved out of Mahabubnagar district.

 c.550 AD - 753 AD : Badami Chalukyas (543 AD - 753 AD) Pulakeshin I defeated Vakataka Dynasty in c.550 AD. Pulakeshin II defeated Durjaya Dynasty in 611 AD and defeated Vishnukundins in 611 / 624 AD.

655 AD - 680 AD : Vikramaditya I 
Vikramaditya I was the third son and followed his father, Pulakesi II on to the Chalukya throne. He restored order in the fractured kingdom and made the Pallavas retreat from the capital Vatapi.

13th April, 660 AD : mudalapadu (Iparumkal), Kollapur
Sanskrit. Registered the grant of the village Iparumkal situated in Vamguravati Vishaya by Vikramaditya I while he was camping at the village Marrura. The grant was made in favour of one Sudarsanacharya towards guru dakshina on the occasion of the king's Sivamandaladiksha on the full moon day of the Vaisakha month.

The village Marrura is identified with Chinnamarur and Peddamarur on the bank of river Krishna in the Kollapur taluka of Nagarkurnool district. 

The Vanguruvati vishaya is identified with village Vanguru of Wanaparti district. Iparumkal village is identified with Vippanagandla which is twelve miles from Marrura.

It is interesting to note that this inscription refers to the rituals of Sivamandaladiksha that were prevalent in those days. Vikramaditya I seems to have been the first ruler of the Badami line of Western Chalukya kings to patronise Saivism

1058 AD - 1077 AD Sankaragandarasa of Rashtrakuta
Manthati : This inscription is on a hill called Bayyanagutta outside the village. Records the installation of God Bhairava in Wanaparthy by Attikabbe, wife of Mesavala Ketaya mantri, ankakara Sankaraganda of Kanduru. This is the earliest reference to modern Wanaparti.

Nalla Bhimadeva-Choda
Upparapalli, Ghanpur Mandal, Wanaparthy
This Telugu inscription in the characters of the twelfth century A.D. is engraved on a stone lying in the field of Sudhakar Reddy. Dated in the cyclic year Hemalambi, it refers to the Kanduri-Choda chief, Nalla Bhima Deva-Choda, who is described as mahamandalesvara, Kodurpuravaresvara and as one who belongs to Surva-vamsa, Kasyapa-gotra and Karikala- anvaya. It registers the grant of lands by his queen Venna-mahadevi for the worship and food offerings to the deity Nrisimhadeva of Mavindlapalli. On the occasion of uttarayana- samkranti, for the merit of the chief.

1278 AD : Annama Raja
12th November A.D. 1278 : Pamapur, Wanaparthy 
This inscription is outside the village near Streamlet. Records the grant of Borra Sunkas (taxes) of the village of Ponnamuchha by a certain Annamaraju, for the merit of Rudradeva (Rudramadevi).

Bahmani Sultanate (1347 AD - 1527 AD)
Founder : Zafar Khan or Hasan Gangu or Allauddin Hassan or Ala-ud-Din Bahman Shah

1494 AD : Mahmood Shah Bahmani II (Mar 26, 1482 - Dec 27, 1518 AD)
1494 AD : Ghanpur Fort
This inscription is on a stone lying behind the high school building, dated S. 1416, (A.D. 1494). Records a land lease contract executed by a Mussalman chief Nizamul mulk, in favour of a merchant guild. A part of the Ghanpur area was leased to the merchants for cultivation. The language is mixed with many Urdu words.

1504 AD : Immadi Narasimha of Vijayanagara Saluva Dynasty
29th February A.D. 1504 : Wanaparthy
Registers the grant of an agrahara village Agarupattu otherwise known as 'ChangaŠłći' situated on the bank of the river Kavaripaka in Padaiveedu maharajya by the king to Parairi Bhatta, son of Tiruvengada Bhatta, grandson of Lakshman Bhatta and great grandson of Sri Narayana of Gautamavarma. The gift village was renamed as Immadi Sri Narasimhendrapura.