Skip to main content


Telangana State is India's 29the State formed on June 2, 2014.

The name "Telangana" refers to the word Trilinga Desa, earned due to the presence of three ancient Shiva Temples at Kaleshwaram, Srisailam, and Draksharamam. A more historical reasoning is that during the reign of Nizams, the region was known as Telugu Angana to differentiate it from the areas where Marathi was spoken.

Events Leading to Telagana State 
Created : June 2, 2014
Capital : Hyderabad
Districts : 33
Area : 1,14,840 sq. km (44,340 sq. mi)
Population : 3.52 crore or 3,52,86,757 (2011)
Minerals :
Languages : Telugu, Urdu
Emblem : Kakatiya Kala Thoranam and Charminar
Song : Jaya Jaya He Telangana Janani Jayakethanam
Bird : Indian Roller or Blue jay (Palapitta)
Animal : Spotted Deer (Jinka)
Tree : Shami Tree or Prosopis Cineraria(Jammi chettu)
Sport : Kabaddi
Flower : Tangedu Flowers or Tanner’s Cassia or Senna Auriculata
Fruit : Mango
Literacy : 66.46%
Rivers : Godavari, Krishna, Manjira and MusiHighest Waterfall : Kuntala Waterfall - 45 metres (148 ft)
Highest Peak : Doli Gutta - 965 meters (3166 ft)
Vehicle Registration : TS

Bhadradri is the largest district with an area of 8,062 km2 (3,113 sq mi) and Hyderabad is the smallest with 217 km2(84 sq mi).

Hyderabad district is the most populated district with a population of 35,269,257 and Rajanna Sircilla district is the least populated with 546,694.

Telangana is the twelfth largest state in India, and the twelfth most populated state in India.

Telangana is bordered by the states of Maharashtra to the north and north west, Chhattisgarh to the north, Karnataka to the west, and Andhra Pradesh to the east and south.

Telangana state Geyam(song) "Jaya Jaya he Telangana Janani Jaya ketanam" is written by Andesri

Telangana Culture
The region’s vast exposure to Persian tradition has long been a meeting place for diverse cultures by acting as a link between North and South of India.
GeographyTelangana is a state in India situated on the centre-south stretch of the Indian peninsula on the high Deccan Plateau. The terrain of Telangana region consists mostly of hills, mountain ranges, and thick dense forests covering an area of 27,292 km2 (10,538 sq mi).
State BordersMaharashtra to the north, Chhattisgarh to the east, Karnataka to the west, and Andhra Pradesh to the east and south.
Telangana is divided into 33 districts The districts are divided into 70 revenue divisions which are further divided into 584 mandals. It is the twelfth largest state and the twelfth-most populated state in India.

Telangana Rivers
Godavari and Krishna are the two main rivers which flows through this region and main sources for irrigation.

Timeline for History of Telangana
Telangana History is very rich and ancient. This region was ruled by Asmakas, Mauryas, Satavahanas, Ikshvakus, Abhiras or Abheeras, Vakatakas, Vishnukundins, Durjaya, Badami Chalukyas, Rashtrakutas, Vemulavada Chalukyas, Mudigonda Chalukyas, Western Chalukyas or Kalyani Chalukyas, Polavasa chiefs, Kanduru Cholas, Kakatiyas, Gonds of Adilabad, Khiljis, Musunuri Nayaks, Recherla Padmanayakas, Qutb Shahis, Mughals and Asaf Jahis.


Popular posts from this blog

Kakatiya Dynasty

895 AD / 1136 AD - 1323 AD Founder : Venna Capitals : Hanumakonda, Warangal Languages : Telugu Religion : Jainism, Hinduism (Saivism) Royal Emblem : Garuda, Varaha Kakatiyas are descendants of Karikala Chola King of Durjaya clan, who initially started as vassals of the Chalukyas in India, and later emerged as a ruling dynasty, with their capital at Kakatipura (probably named after the village diety, Kakatamma) or present day Warangal, in the state of Telangana, India. Kakatiyas were the devotees of Goddess Kakati. They were said to originate from Chaturthakula and they allied themselves by matrimony to chiefs of the Shudra caste, although in many documents related to gifts given in the Brahmins, their ancestry has been traced to the Solar dynasty of the Ikshvaku kshatriyas. The Kakatiya period was rightly called the brightest period of the Telugu history. The entire Telugu speaking area was under the kings who spoke Telugu and encouraged Telugu. They establish

Krishna River

Origin    : Mahabaleswar (Western Ghats), Mahasrashtra. Length    : 1400 km (870 mi) Drainage  :  258948 km    Elevation :  1,337 m (4,386 ft) Outflow   : Bay of Bengal States    : Maharashtra (305), Karnataka (483), Telangana - 416 and Andhra Pradesh - 485(612). The River Krishna forms border between the states of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh from Srisailam to Pulichintala for about 290 kms flows passing through NSP Dam Telangana Length    : 416 km Start     :  Krishna Village in Maganoor mandal, Narayanpet district. End       :  Vajinepally , Nalgonda. Districts : Mahabubnagar ( 300 km) , Nalgonda (116 km) The Krishna River is the fourth-biggest river in terms of water inflows and river basin area in India, after the Ganga, Godavari and Brahmaputra.  It flows east to Wai and then in a generally southeasterly direction past Sangli to the border of Karnataka state. There the river turns east and flows in an irregular course across north-central Karnataka and then to the s

Telangana Literature

The earliest known Literature of Telangana is around 940 AD during the rule of  Chalukyas of Vemulvada who patronized Sanskrit, Kannada and Telugu.  575 A.D - The Kalamalla inscription unearthed on the premises of Chennakesava-Siddeshwara temple at Kalamalla village in Yerraguntla Mandal Kadapa district A.P. is considered to be the first one written entirely in the Telugu language and put up by Renati Chola King Erikal Mutthuraju. 10th Century Adi Kavi Pampa (902 A.D - 975 A.D)   was court poet of Arikesari II (930 - 955 AD).  The Chalukya King of Vemulawada, Arikesari-II asks Pampa to write an epic to immortalize him. Pampa takes up the work with utmost earnestness. Within one year, he creates Kannada’s greatest epic ‘Vikramarjuna Vijaya aka ‘Pampa Bharatha. Arikesari-II is greatly pleased with the work of Pampa. He bestows him with an honorific ‘Kavithagunarnava’ and also gifts him with an agrahara called Dharmapura.  Pampa’s samadhi (grave) was discovered in 1970 in the town of

Kuravi Veerabhadra Swamy Temple

Historic Sri Veerabhadra Swamy temple is in the Kuravi mandal of the Mahabubabad district in Telangana State, India. This temple is dedicated to Lord Veerabhadra swamy,who is fierce looking Diety with three eyes and ten hands. According to local lore, the Kuravi Veerabhadra Swamy temple was said to have been built during 900 AD by Bheema Raju of Vengi Chalukya dynasty. Later the renovation of temple was taken up by Kakatiya ruler Betharaju I. The reference of this temple has also made by the famous traveller ‘Marko-Poli’ as it stood as the capital of Vengi Chalukya Dynasty. As Kakatiya kings were known to be followers of Lord Shiva, they constructed several temples across the empire and improved those already existed.

Vykuntapuram Temple (Sangareddy)

Located in Sangareddy. Pilgrims from different regions do come here for darshan of Sri Srimannarayana swamy ( Lord Venkateshwara). The Ambiance in the temple makes you to feel like you are in thirupathi temple. The Idol of Lord Venkateshwara swamy is similar to the one in thirumala with 3 muka dhwaras. Especially during Saturdays, Public holidays , and on festivals days will be fully packed with the public who come for darshan. One must visit the temple for its beautiful and peacefull ambiance when you come across this sangareddy city. JAI SRIMANARAYANA CHARITABLE TRUST Sri Vaikuntapuram Sangareddy shivaru, Medak Telangana-502001 Phone:  08455-275555, 201080 Cell:  +91 8125615558