Skip to main content


Showing posts from March, 2014

Megasthenes 30 Walled Towns

The Greek ambassador to the court of Chandragupta Maurya, Megasthenes of 4th Century B. C. states that there was a powerful Deccan Nation Andrae having 30 walled cities and an army second only to that of the Imperial Mauryas of Magadha. Megasthenes (about 295 B.C.) : he says, their kings had 100,000 foot soldiers, 2000 horses, 1000 elephants, 30 walled towns, and many villages. Forts in Karimnagar Kotilingala Peddabankur Budigapalli Dhulikatta Kondapur Villages Pahnigiri Thirumalgiri

Rashtrakuta Dynasty

753 AD - 973 AD : Rashtrakuta defeated Badami Chalukyas in 753 AD. Founder : Dantidurga Capitals : Manyakheta Languages : Kannada, Sanskrit Religion : Jainism, Hinduism 753 AD to 973 AD : Vemulavada Chalukyas (vassals to Rashtrakuta Dynasty) ruled Karimnagar and Nizamabad. 753 AD to 973 AD: Kakatiyas ruled as vassals to Rashrakuta ruled with kakatipura in warangal as capital. Also ruled koravi or kurravadi in warangal district. 753 AD - 756 AD : Dantidurga (735 AD - 756 AD) occupied all territories between the Godavari and Vima. Dantidurga is said to have conquered Kalinga, Kosala, Kanchi, Srisril, Malava, Lata etc. He annexed Maharashtra to his kingdom by defeating Chalukya King Kirtivarma with the help of Vemulawada Chalukya king Yudhamalla I (750 AD - 780 AD). 756 AD - 774 AD : Krishna I Dantidurga was succeeded by his uncle Krishna I. He conquered the territories that were still under the Chalukyas and thereby competed conquest of the Chalukya territories. He also occupied Konkan.

Ikshvakus of Vijayapuri

c.220 AD - c.320 AD : Ikshvakus or Ikshavakus came to power in Telangana after Satavahanas . Founder : Vashishthiputra Sri Santamula (Santamula I)  Capitals : Vijayapuri (Nagarjunakonda). Language : Telugu Religion : Hinduism, Budhism Ikshvakus were originally feudatories of the Satavahanas and bore the title Mahatalavara. Ruled Nalgonda and Khammam regions in Telangana.  Ikshvaku coins were found in the interior Telangana, Keesaraguta assumes great importance due to the fact that the early unadulterated Brahmanical faith flourished here They had two subordinate and related families, the Pugiyas and Hiranyakas. While the rulers were followers of Brahmanism and performed Vedic sacrifices, their consorts were devotees of the Buddha and erected buildings for the Buddhists settled at Nagarjunakonda and made pious donations to the stupas. Most of these buildings owed their existence to the piety of certain queens and princesses belonging to the royal house of Ikshvaku, the principal

Badami Chalukya Dynasty

c.550 AD - 753 AD :  Badami Chalukyas  (543 AD - 753 AD) Pulakeshin I  defeated Vakataka Dynasty in c.550 AD. Pulakeshin II defeated Durjaya Dynasty in 611 AD and defeated Vishnukundins in 611 / 624 AD. Founder : Pulakeshin I  Capitals : Badami  Languages : Kannada, Sanskrit  Religion : Jainism, Hinduism  The Badami Chalukyas began to assert their independence at the decline of the Kadamba kingdom of Banavasi. The Chalukya dynasty was established by Pulakeshin I in 543. Pulakeshin I took Vatapi (modern Badami in Bagalkot district, Karnataka) under his control and made it his capital.  According to the Mahakuta pillar inscription, the dynasty commenced with Jayasimha I, followed by Ranaraga. Pulakesi I and his descendants, are referred to as Chalukyas of Badami who ruled over an empire that comprised the entire state of Karnataka, Telangana and most of Andhra Pradesh in the Deccan. Pulakesi II whose precoronation name was Ereya was perhaps the greatest emperor of the Badami Chalukyas