Skip to main content

Polavasa Chiefs

Polavasa / Polasa chiefs / Nengonda Dynasty (1075 AD -1160 AD) are the descendants of Rashtrakutas and were based immediately north of the Kakatiya territories. Polavasa was a capital under the rule of Medaraja (1080–1110).They ruled from their capital at Polavasa (modern day Jagtial) of Karimnagar district to Narsampet of Warangal district from their capital at Polavasa.

Polavasa kings would have maintained the confederation, as three brothers Medararaju,Edaraju and Gundaraja (1116- 1138) was ruling from different places and bearing the same title. This may be because of their Rastrakuta descent. 

The Polavasa chiefs were subordinates of the Western Chalukyas, but revolted against their overlords during the early 12th century. However, they were eventually subdued by Chalukya King Jagadekamalla II, with the support of Beta II (1076 - 1108) for which he was awarded Sabbi-1000 region (modern-day Karimnagar district).

Prola defeated Gundaraja, ruler of Mantrakuta (modern Manthani), pursued him to his capital where he had his head shaved and caused him to be branded on the breast.

Pratapa Rudra-II of Kakatiya dynasty conquers the Polavasa and neighbouring regions. The ruler of Polavasa Medaraju II, who gives his only daughter in marriage to the tribal king Pagididdaraju of Medaram flees to Medaram after losing his kingdom to Kakatiyas.

Mahamandalesvara Edaraja is said to have ruled from Ramagundam during the first half the twelfth century A.D. Edraja of Ramagundam was a contemporary ruler to Medaraja II of Polavasa and Gundaraja of Mantrakuta.

All of them were defeated by Kakti Prola II between A.D. 1138 and 1140. Consequently the eastern portions of the district including the areas of Manthani, Ramagundam and present Godavarikani were included in the Kakatiya kingdom. The temples built during 11th and 12th centuries by the Polavasa chiefs, Chalukyas of Kalyani and Kakatiyas are noticed in this region. Among them the Trikuta temple of Jangoan, which now forms a part of Godavarikhani, is a wonderful monument which is partly in ruins.

(Decendents of Rastrakutas)
Madhava varman
Durgaraja (upto 1080AD)
Medaraja I (1080-1110AD)
Jaggadeva I (1110-1116AD)
Gundaraja of Mantrakuta (1116-1138AD)
Medaraja II of Polavasa (1116-1159AD)
Jaggadeva II of Polavasa
Edaraja of Ramagundam


Popular posts from this blog

Krishna River

Origin    : Mahabaleswar (Western Ghats), Mahasrashtra. Length    : 1400 km (870 mi) Drainage  :  258948 km    Elevation :  1,337 m (4,386 ft) Outflow   : Bay of Bengal States    : Maharashtra (305), Karnataka (483), Telangana - 416 and Andhra Pradesh - 485(612). The River Krishna forms border between the states of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh from Srisailam to Pulichintala for about 290 kms flows passing through NSP Dam Telangana Length    : 416 km Start     :  Krishna Village in Maganoor mandal, Narayanpet district. End       :  Vajinepally , Nalgonda. Districts : Mahabubnagar ( 300 km) , Nalgonda (116 km) The Krishna River is the fourth-biggest river in terms of water inflows and river basin area in India, after the Ganga, Godavari and Brahmaputra.  It flows east to Wai and then in a generally southeasterly direction past Sangli to the border of Karnataka state. There the river turns east and flows in an irregular course across north-central Karnataka and then to the s

Kakatiya Dynasty

c.895 AD / 1150 AD - 1323 AD Founder      : Venna Capitals     : Hanamkonda, Warangal Languages    : Telugu Religion     : Jainism, Hinduism (Saivism) Royal Emblem : Garuda, Varaha Kakatiyas are descendants of Karikala Chola King of Durjaya clan, who initially started as vassals of the Chalukyas in India, and later emerged as a ruling dynasty, with their capital at Kakatipura (probably named after the village diety, Kakatamma) or present day Warangal, in the state of Telangana, India.  Kakatiyas were the devotees of Goddess Kakati. They were said to originate from Chaturthakula and they allied themselves by matrimony to chiefs of the Shudra caste, although in many documents related to gifts given in the Brahmins, their ancestry has been traced to the Solar dynasty of the Ikshvaku kshatriyas. The Kakatiya period was rightly called the brightest period of the Telugu history. The entire Telugu speaking area was under the kings who spoke Telugu and encouraged

Komaram Bheem

Komaram Bheem was born in Oct 22, 1901 to Komaram Chinnu and Som Bai in Sankepally of Asifabad in Komaram Bheem District in a family of Gonda Tribals in the forests of Adilabad and died Oct 8, 1940 in Jodheghat. Komaram Bheem was a revolutionary tribal leader who fought against the Asaf Jahi Dynasty for the freedom of Adivasis. in a guerrilla campaign. He gave the slogan of Jal, Jungle, Jameen ( Water, Forest, Land). It means the people who live in forests should have rights on all the resources of the forest.  Komaram Bheem will forever remain a leader and icon for his contributions to the age-long Adivasi struggle of 'Jal Jangal Jameen'. He was the heart-throb of the Gond tribes, whose hearts were in the forests of Asifabad. He was not exposed to the out side world and did not have any formal education.  When Komaram Bheem was barely 15 years old his father was killed by forest officials for asserting Adivasis’ rights.  After his father’s death, his family