Eastern Chalukyas of Vengi

624 AD -1189 AD : Eastern Chalukyas of Vengi
Capitals : Pistapuram, Vengi, Rajamahendravaram
Religion : Hinduism
Languages : Telugu, Kannada, Sanskrit

Mudigonda Chalukyas are the vassals ruling in Mudigonda in current Khammam district and Koravi in Mahabubabad district of Telangana.

The Chalukyas of Vengi branched off from the Chalukyas of Badami. The Badami ruler Pulakeshin II (610–642 CE) conquered the Vengi region in eastern Deccan, after defeating the remnants of the Vishnukundina dynasty. He appointed his brother Kubja Vishnuvardhana the governor of this newly acquired territory in 624 A.D

624 - 641 AD : Kubja Vishnuvardhana I

641 - 673 AD : Jayasimha I 

673 AD, seven days : Indra Bhattaraka

673 - 682 AD - Vishnuvardhana II

682 - 706 AD : Mangi Yuvaraja

706 - 718 AD : Jayasimha II

718 - 719 AD, six months : Kokkili 

719 - 755 AD : Vishnuvardhana III

755 - 772 AD : Vijayaditya I Bhattaraka

The Alluvalu Grant of Vijayaditya I
The find spot of the inscription is not known. It is now deposited in the State Museum, Hyderabad
Palli-nandu-vishaya, in which the gift village Alluvalu and its boundaries Chuvikandhi, Juvikalu, Chintapali, and Muparu are situated, is roughly identical with the present Palnad taluk of the Guntur district. There are two villages in the Palnad taluk named Chintapalli and Zukallu. It is not possible to state whether these are adjacent, and if so they are identical with Chintapali and Juvikalu mentioned in the inscription respectively. The situation neither of the gift village Alluvalu, nor the other two boundary villages Chuvi -kandhi and Muparu is known. Paranthuru, the residence of the donee Golasarman is probably identical with Parachuru in the Bapatla taluk.

772 - 808 AD : Vishnuvardhana IV Vishnuraja

808 - 847 AD : Vijayaditya II

Varppomgu Plates of Vijayaditya II
These plates were discovered in the village of Maddar in the Madira taluk of the Khammam district, and are now deposited in the State Museum, Hyderabad. 

The seal is quite interesting. The image of the boar, the lanchhana of the Eastern Chalukyas and other emblems of the royal insignia usually found on the seals of the copper- plate records, do not find a place here. On the upper part of the seal is an engraved emblem of the crescent moon with a knob on either side and a lotus with open petals at the bottom. In between the two right in the middle of the seal is embossed the Eastern Chalukya sign manual Tribhuvanam Kusa. The crescent is probably intended to indicate the affiliation of the E. Chalukya family to the lunar race.

The language of the inscription is Sanskrit.  The inscription records that, the Eastern Chalukya king Samasta-bhuvanasraya Sri Vijayaditya Maharajadhiraja Paramesvara Bhatara, dear son of Sarva-lokesraya Sri Vishnuvardhana Maharaja and grandson of Sri Vijayaditya Maharaja, on the occasion of a lunar eclipse (Chandra-grahana) in the temple Trikoteswara, granted to the brahmana Chandasarman Chaturvedi, son of Potasarman, and grandson of Reva Sarman of Kasyapa- gotra, and a resident of Intupurevu the village of Varppomgu in the Pishtapura -vishaya, Vijayaditya, the donor of this grant is the second Eastern Chalukya king of that name, usually referred in the inscriptions of his successors as Narendramrigaraja or the lion to the deer viz., the enemy kings. The title maharajadhiraja, paramesvara and bhatara and the statement samasta-samantachakra chakravarti-lakshan=opatah seem to indicate that he was a paramount sovereign who aspired to the status of an emperor, the overlord of a circle of a feudatory chiefs. Nothing is, however, said of his achievements, although his reign as can be seen from the other, recorded in this collection, was quite eventful. The donee Chandasarman was a chatur-Vedi, a scholar proficient in the four Vedas; but his ancestors appear to be ordinary brahmanas without any distinction.

847 - 849 AD : Kali Vishnuvardhana V

849 - 892 AD : Gunaga Vijayaditya III
 with his two brothers : Yuvaraja Vikramaditya I and Yuddhamalla I

892 - 921 AD : Bhima I Dronarjuna

921 AD, six months : Vijayaditya IV Kollabiganda

921 - 927 AD : Amma I Vishnuvardhana VI

927 AD, fifteen days : Vijayaditya V Beta

927 AD, one month : Tadapa

927 - 928 AD, eleven months : Vikramaditya II

928 - 929 AD, eight months : Bhima II

929 - 935 AD : Yuddhamalla II

935 - 947 AD : Bhima III Vishnuvardhana VII

947 - 970 AD : Amma II Vijayaditya VI

970 - 973 AD : Danarnava

973 - 999 AD : Jata Choda Bhima (usurp.)

999 - 1011 AD : Shaktivarman I Chalukyacandra

1011 - 1018 AD : Vimaladitya

1018 - 1061 AD : Rajaraja Narendra I Vishnuvardhana VIII 

1061 - 1063 AD : Shaktivarman II

1063 - 1068 AD, 1072–1075 AD : Vijayaditya VII

1075 - 1079 AD : Rajaraja II

1079 -1102 AD : Virachola Vishnuvardhana IX