Khammam History

The present name of Khammam is derived its name after a local hill, which was called as 'Stambhadri'. The town was called with different names starting with Stambhadri, Kambhadri, Kambham mettu, Khammam mettu and then finally as Khammam.

700 BC - 300 BC : Assaka/Asmaka/Ashmaka (The 16 Mahajanapadas)

300 BC - 185 BC : Mauryan Empire

230 BC – 220 AD : Satavahanas ( Were vassals of Mauryan Empire)​

220 AD - 250 AD : Ikshvakas of Vijayapuri
Nelakondapally : Excavation on the mound called Bairagi- gadda and exposed four irregular brick-walls plastered with lime. The digging yielded three copper coins issued by Vishnukundin kings and lead coins bearing elephant symbols which may be ascribed to Ikshvaku period. Nine mutilated sculptures recovered earlier from the site by the villagers, were shifted to State Museum at Vijayawada.

250 AD - 500 AD : Vakataka Dynasty

500 AD - 543 AD : Vishnukundins
Nelakondapally : Excavation on the mound called Bairagi- gadda and exposed four irregular brick-walls plastered with lime. The digging yielded three copper coins issued by Vishnukundin kings

543 AD - 753 AD : Badami Chalukyas

750 AD to 1323 AD : Kakatiyas ruled as vassals to Rashrakuta Dynasty from 753 AD - 982 AD and Western Chalukyas (Kalyani Chalukyas) from 982 AD to 1158 with Kakatipura, Anumakonda (Hanumkonda), Orugallu (Warangal) as there capitals.
Polavasa chiefs were based immediately north of the Kakatiya territories. They ruled over most of Karimnagar district and the northern part of Warangal district from their capital at Polavasa, which is the modern-day Polas in Jagtial taluk. 

1116 AD - 1158 AD : Prolla II Brother of Durgaraja. Son of Beta II
4th March, A.D.1120 : Materu, Khammamet (Khammam) District.
The Telugu inscription is on a stone in front of the Gopalaswamy temple and records the gift of lands for offerings etc., to the temples of Mahadeva, Vinayaka and Kesavadeva, consecrated by Mahasamanta Vemabola Boddama-Mallenayaka, the servant (bantu) of Mahamandalesvara Kakatiya Prolaraja on Vaddvaru su 3, of Chaitra in the year Sarvari,corresponding to the Saka year 1042= Thursday 4 March A.D. 1120.

1310 : Malik Kafur general of Delhi Sultanate Alauddin Khilji defeated Prataprudra II and was forced to pay annual tribute to Delhi. It was probably at this time that the Koh-i-Noor diamond passed from Kakatiya ownership to that of Alauddin, along with 20,000 horses and 100 elephants1323 : Ulug Khan son of Ghiyasuddin Toughly captured Warangal from Parataparudra II.

1323 AD - 1336 AD : Tughlaq DynastyMusunuri Nayakas : In 1336 Kapaya Nayaka took control of Warangal from Malik Maqbul

1325 AD – 1350 AD : Musunuri NayaksThe fall of Kakatiya kingdom and its annexation to the Tughlak empire made the Hindu feudatories to unite themselves to liberate the Telugu country from alien rulers. A movement was started at Rekapalli on the bank of the Godavari under the leadership of Musunuri Prolaya Nayaka and his cousin Kapaya Nayaka and succeeded in driving away the Muslims from the Telugu country in A.D.1328. Kapaya Nayaka became the ruler in A.D.1333, after the demise of Prolaya Nayaka, and Warangal was once again the capital of the Telugu Country. 1350 : Bahman Shah led his first campaign against Warangal and forced its ruler Kapaya Nayaka to cede to him the fortress.

1350 AD – 1518 AD : Bahmani Sultanate
1463 : Sultan Mohammad Shah Bahmani dispatched Sultan Quli Qutb-ul-Mulk to the Telangana region to quell disturbances. Sultan Quli quelled the disturbance and was rewarded as the administrator of the region.
1512 : He defeated Shitab Khan to capture Khammam fort.
1518 : Sultan Quli Qutb-ul-Mulk declared Independence

1503 AD - 1512 AD: Sitapati Raju (known as Shitab Khan) ruled from Rachakonda(Nalgonda), Warangal and Khammam forts.

1509 AD - 1529 AD : Vijayanagara Empire (Tuluva dynasty) - Krishna Deva Raya Rule
4th May, A.D. 1516  : Nelakondapalli, Khammamet taluk
The following inscription is on three sides of a pillar now planted in the compound of the local library at Nelakondapalli. It is in Telugu prose and records the grant of land to some shrines in Kondapalli, on the orders of Kondamarusayya, who ruled in this region as governor in the reign of Krsna-deva-raya of Vijayanagara.

The actual reconquest by the Gajapati king is proved by the fact that this region was in his Kingdom at the time of Krsna-deva-raya's invasion. Nalagonda (modern Nalgonda), Khammamet. and Khandikonda (Mabbababad  district), are referred to among others, important places in the Gajapati kingdom which Krsna-deva-raya captured.

1518 AD – 1687 AD : Qutbshahis / Golconda Sultanate

After krishnadevaraya this area came under the rule of golconda qutubshahis.abdul hasan tanisha was the last ruler whose employee was kancharla gopanna whose name was known as bhadrachala ramadas.Ministers akkana,madanna were from warangal.1636 : Shah Jahan forced the Qutb Shahis to recognize Mughal suzerainty, which lasted until 1687 when the Mughal emperor Aurangzeb conquered the Golcondan sultanate.

1687 AD - 1724 AD : Mughal Empire 
Dacha Nayaka
Jallepalle, Khammam District. 
 This inscription is on the rocky outcrop by the side of the tank. Refers to the rule of Dachayamnayani over Andhradesa including Jallipalli. Also mention the name Pratigamda Bayaravumda. In characters of the 15th-16th century A.D.

This inscription is on a rock by the side of the tank on the hill. Refers to the prosperous reign of Pratigandabhairava Dachanayaka, who is stated to be ruling over the Andhradesa from Jallipalli.

1713 AD : Mir Qamaruddin Siddiqi was appointed governor by the Mughals.
1724 AD : Mir Qamaruddin Siddiqi was granted the control of Hyderabad by the Mughal emperor Muhammad Shah with the title Nizam-ul-Mulk Asaf Jah after defeating the rival from Maratha Empire.

1724 AD - 1948 AD : Asaf Jahis
1798 : Hyderabad became the first Indian royal state to accede to British protection under the policy of Subsidiary Alliance instituted by Arthur Wellesley.
1946 - 1951 : Telangana Rebellion
Aug 15, 1947 : Indian Independence from British. Osman Ali Khan ASAF Jahi VII chose to remain independent.
Sep 17, 1948 : Operation Polo, was a military operation ordered by then Indian Home Minister Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel on Sep 13 1948 in which the Indian Armed Forces invaded the State of Hyderabad and overthrew its Nizam on Sep 17 1948, integrating Hyderabad in to India.

Sep 17, 1948 - Oct 31, 1956 : Hyderabad State, India.

Sep 17 1948 - Dec 31 1949 : Major General J. N. Chaudhuri who led Operation Polo stayed on as Military Governor.
26 January 1950 - 31 October 1956 : Last Nizam, Osman Ali Khan ASAF Jahi VII as Rajpramukh. Rajpramukh was an administrative title in India which existed from India's independence in 1947 until 1956. Rajpramukhs were the appointed governors of certain of India's provinces and states.
26 Jan, 1950 - 6 March, 1952 : M. K. Vellodi was Chief Minister of the state appointed by Government of India.
6 March, 1952 - 31 October 1956 : In the 1952 Legislative Assembly election, Dr. Burgula Ramakrishna Rao was elected Chief minister of Hyderabad State.

1953 : Khammam City, which was the seat of Taluk Administration, was part of the larger Warangal District, until 1 October 1953. Five taluks of the Warangal district viz., Khammam, Madhira, Yellandu, Burgampadu and Paloncha (now Kothagudem) were carved out and a new district Khammam with Khammam as District Headquarters.

1 November, 1956 - 1 June, 2014 : Andhra Pradesh State, India Andhra State and Telangana region of Hyderabad State were merged to form Andhra Pradesh State, India.

1959 : Bhadrachalam Revenue Division consisting Bhadrachalam and Nuguru Venkatapuram Taluks of East Godawari district, which were on the other side of the river Godavari were merged into Khammam on grounds of geographical contiguity and administrative viability.

2 June, 2014 : Telangana, India.