Skip to main content

Viriyala Chiefs

Founder : Poranti or Poranki Venna
Head Quarters : Katukuru  
Descendants of Durjaya dynasty, like Kakatiyas and served as chiefs of army.
The Viriyala chiefs continued as subordinate/feudatory rulers for Rashtra kutas, Kalyani Chalukyas and Kakatiyas for around 600 years. Their history is reconstructed through ‘Gudur’, Moripirala, Kalukur, Pammi and Rayaparty inscriptions issued by themselves. According to their inscriptions, the founder of their dynasty was Poranti Venna.

Poranti or Poranki Venna
According to the ‘Gudur1 inscription, after several kings in the, Durjaya dynasty Poranaki Venna was born. It seems that he was an army chief under the Rashtrakutas.

Erra Bhupati
Erra Bhupati, son of Poranti Venna, succeeded his father as the chief of army of Rashtrakutas, according to Gudur inscription.

After Erra Bhupati, his son Bhima became famous as the army chief of Rashtrakutas. The Gudur inscription compared him with the Bhima of Pandavas

995 A.D : Erra Narendra
Erra Narendra was the son of Bhima. During his period, Tailapa-II defeated the Rashtrakuta dynasty and occupied their kingdom. Kakatiya Gunda (950 -995) was eventually killed by one Viriyala Erra, who installed the Mudigonda Chalukya chief Bottu Beta as ruler of Koravi. Kakatiya Gunda sister Kuntala Devi alias Kamasani had been given in marriage to Erra. She helped the Kakatlya chief Beta I (996 - 1052 AD) to restore his kingdom after the death of Gunda.

1108 A.D : Sura I
Sura senani had become famous after Erra Narendra. According to the Gudur inscription, Sura senani killed Kataya nayaka ( Kata I / Kataya Recherla General of Beta II :1076 AD - 1108 AD) and made a person called Rawanrupa as the ruler of Velpugonda.

Sura has 3 sons Prola, Malla and Beta.
Prola I
Viriyala Nagasani, wife of prola I was the feudatory ruler of Rembarti area. After her husbabd's death,her sons Malraja and Mummadiraja being young Nagasani governed the area.

1124 AD : Malla
Gudur epigraph of Viriyala Malla Donor of the village Gumuduru to the god Mallesvara.It records the endowment of village Bammera, included in the Velpugonda-24 division.

Beta was the son of Sura senani. His details were given in Moripirala, Katukuru and Gudur inscriptions. His wife was Bejjamamba. He had four sons - Sura II, Malla, Prola II and Komma.

They were very small by the time Betana died. So, Nagasani, wife of Betana’s cousin Prolasenani came from Rembarti to Pammi along with her sons Malraju and Mummadinayaka, according to the Moripirala inscriptions.

Sura II
Built a temple for god siva and a tank at Ayyanapura.

1195 AD : Annaya son of Malla
The Mylama inscription gave details about Annaya senani, son of Malla senani and his wife Aitama. The daughter of Annaya and Aitama was Mylama. She married the famous chounda senani of Malyala dynasty.

1203 AD: Mylama issued the Katukur inscription, which reveals the histories of Viriyala and Malyala dynasties; Annaya senani was a con-temporary of Rudradeva, Mahadeva and Ganapatideva.

1245 AD : Rudra The name of Rudramaraju belonging to the Viriyala dynasty was mentioned in the Rayaparty inscription but his details were unknown.

1254 AD : Ganapathi

1273 AD : Sura
Subordinate of Rudramadevi (1262 - 1289)
1273 A.D Kotagiri copper plates of Queen Rudramba1: Sura gave the village of Vijjalapuri as a gift to several brahmans

The kakatias of Warangal - Dr. P.V.Parabrahma Sastry


Popular posts from this blog

Kakatiya Dynasty

895 AD / 1136 AD - 1323 AD Founder : Venna Capitals : Hanumakonda, Warangal Languages : Telugu Religion : Jainism, Hinduism (Saivism) Royal Emblem : Garuda, Varaha Kakatiyas are descendants of Karikala Chola King of Durjaya clan, who initially started as vassals of the Chalukyas in India, and later emerged as a ruling dynasty, with their capital at Kakatipura (probably named after the village diety, Kakatamma) or present day Warangal, in the state of Telangana, India. Kakatiyas were the devotees of Goddess Kakati. They were said to originate from Chaturthakula and they allied themselves by matrimony to chiefs of the Shudra caste, although in many documents related to gifts given in the Brahmins, their ancestry has been traced to the Solar dynasty of the Ikshvaku kshatriyas. The Kakatiya period was rightly called the brightest period of the Telugu history. The entire Telugu speaking area was under the kings who spoke Telugu and encouraged Telugu. They establish

Krishna River

Origin    : Mahabaleswar (Western Ghats), Mahasrashtra. Length    : 1400 km (870 mi) Drainage  :  258948 km    Elevation :  1,337 m (4,386 ft) Outflow   : Bay of Bengal States    : Maharashtra (305), Karnataka (483), Telangana - 416 and Andhra Pradesh - 485(612). The River Krishna forms border between the states of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh from Srisailam to Pulichintala for about 290 kms flows passing through NSP Dam Telangana Length    : 416 km Start     :  Krishna Village in Maganoor mandal, Narayanpet district. End       :  Vajinepally , Nalgonda. Districts : Mahabubnagar ( 300 km) , Nalgonda (116 km) The Krishna River is the fourth-biggest river in terms of water inflows and river basin area in India, after the Ganga, Godavari and Brahmaputra.  It flows east to Wai and then in a generally southeasterly direction past Sangli to the border of Karnataka state. There the river turns east and flows in an irregular course across north-central Karnataka and then to the s

Telangana Literature

The earliest known Literature of Telangana is around 940 AD during the rule of  Chalukyas of Vemulvada who patronized Sanskrit, Kannada and Telugu.  575 A.D - The Kalamalla inscription unearthed on the premises of Chennakesava-Siddeshwara temple at Kalamalla village in Yerraguntla Mandal Kadapa district A.P. is considered to be the first one written entirely in the Telugu language and put up by Renati Chola King Erikal Mutthuraju. 10th Century Adi Kavi Pampa (902 A.D - 975 A.D)   was court poet of Arikesari II (930 - 955 AD).  The Chalukya King of Vemulawada, Arikesari-II asks Pampa to write an epic to immortalize him. Pampa takes up the work with utmost earnestness. Within one year, he creates Kannada’s greatest epic ‘Vikramarjuna Vijaya aka ‘Pampa Bharatha. Arikesari-II is greatly pleased with the work of Pampa. He bestows him with an honorific ‘Kavithagunarnava’ and also gifts him with an agrahara called Dharmapura.  Pampa’s samadhi (grave) was discovered in 1970 in the town of

Kuravi Veerabhadra Swamy Temple

Historic Sri Veerabhadra Swamy temple is in the Kuravi mandal of the Mahabubabad district in Telangana State, India. This temple is dedicated to Lord Veerabhadra swamy,who is fierce looking Diety with three eyes and ten hands. According to local lore, the Kuravi Veerabhadra Swamy temple was said to have been built during 900 AD by Bheema Raju of Vengi Chalukya dynasty. Later the renovation of temple was taken up by Kakatiya ruler Betharaju I. The reference of this temple has also made by the famous traveller ‘Marko-Poli’ as it stood as the capital of Vengi Chalukya Dynasty. As Kakatiya kings were known to be followers of Lord Shiva, they constructed several temples across the empire and improved those already existed.

Vykuntapuram Temple (Sangareddy)

Located in Sangareddy. Pilgrims from different regions do come here for darshan of Sri Srimannarayana swamy ( Lord Venkateshwara). The Ambiance in the temple makes you to feel like you are in thirupathi temple. The Idol of Lord Venkateshwara swamy is similar to the one in thirumala with 3 muka dhwaras. Especially during Saturdays, Public holidays , and on festivals days will be fully packed with the public who come for darshan. One must visit the temple for its beautiful and peacefull ambiance when you come across this sangareddy city. JAI SRIMANARAYANA CHARITABLE TRUST Sri Vaikuntapuram Sangareddy shivaru, Medak Telangana-502001 Phone:  08455-275555, 201080 Cell:  +91 8125615558