Hyderabad District

Head Quarters        : Hyderabad

Revenue divisions    : 2 (Hyderabad and Secunderabad )
Mandals              : 16 
Population           : 3,943,323
Area (km2)           : 217 square kilometres (84 sq mi)
Literacy             : 83.25%
Highways             : NH-44‎, ‎NH-65‎, ‎NH-163‎, ‎NH-765
Rivers               : Musi
Vehicle Registration : TS 09, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14
Collector            : Rahul Bojja

Hyderabad District is a district in the state of Telangana in India that contains a part of the metropolitan area of Hyderabad. It is headed by a district collector who is drawn from the IAS cadre and is appointed by the state government. It is the smallest of all the districts in the state, but has the highest human density. The district is a city district which means that it does not have a district headquarters. Old MCH area, which is central region of Hyderabad city comes under this district.
Hyderabad district was formed in 1948 after Police Action by merging Atraf-a-Balda District and Baghat District. Baghat was previously a Taluk in Atraf-e-Balda District, and was made a separate district in 1931-34 under the subedar of Medak division. In 1978 Hyderabad district was later split into Hyderabad Urban District and Hyderabad Rural District. Hyderabad rural district was later renamed as Ranga Reddy District.

Hyderbad Urban district is now known as Hyderabad district.


  1. Amberpet
  2. Ameerpet
  3. Asifnagar
  4. Bahadurpura
  5. Bandlaguda
  6. Charminar
  7. Golconda
  8. Himayathnagar
  9. Khairtabad
  10. Marredpally
  11. Musheerabad
  12. Nampally
  13. Saidabad
  14. Secunderabad
  15. Shaikpet
  16. Tirumalgherry