Suryapet District

Head Quarters        : Suryapet
Revenue divisions    : 2 (Suryapet and Kodad )
Mandals              : 23
Population           : 10,99,560
Area                 : 3,374.41 km2 (1,302.87 sq mi)
Literacy             : 64.11
Rivers               : Musi
Highways             : NH 65, NH 365, NH 365 A, SH 42
Vehicle Registration : TS 29

Suryapet district is a district in the Indian state of Telangana. It is carved out of erstwhile Nalgonda
district. The district shares boundaries with Nalgonda, Yadadri, Khammam, Hanamkonda, Mahabubabad districts and the state of Andhra Pradesh.

Suryapet town has authentic acknowledgement as ‘Portal of Telangana’. It has infrequently alluded as Bhanupur. This town was at one time a little site for a gathering of tenants. Around then the name was “Bhanupuri”

Suryapet is India’s first ‘Waste-Compliant’city. 

Suryapet is historically famous for being a hotspot of the movement against Razakars in Telangana Armed Struggle. Suryapet is now a fast developing region with highly flourishing cement industries. The district having a vast expanse of river Krishna basin, witnesses a quite widespread agriculture while Nagarjuna Sagar left canal is its chief source of irrigation.

Suryapet is adorned by many Shivaite temples which were built during the Kakaitya rule and remind everyone of the glorious past of the area. At the heart of these attractions lies the thousand year old Chennakeshava temple at Pillalamarri which draws innumerable tourists every year.

Suryapet town is a major road junction. It lies on the National Highway 65 and is located exactly between Hyderabad, the capital of Telangana and Vijayawada, the capital city of Andhra Pradesh. TSRTC operates buses from Suryapet to many major cities, towns and villages. Three more national highways which are Kodad and Huzurnagar are the other important towns in the district.

Natural Resources
uranium, thorium

Pillalamarri Temple of Suryapet
Phanigiri is a Buddhist site that lies 84 km from the town of Nalgonda. The place is a recent discovery after the Department of Archaeology and Museums of Telangana did excavations at the place.
Undrugonda Laxminarsimha Swamy Temple
Mattapally Laxminarsimha Swamy Temple
Arvapally Laxminarsimha Swami Temple
Jatara at Peddagattu Lingamantula Swamy temple
Miryala SItaramachandra Swamy Temple
Suryapet Venkateshwara Swamy Temple
Dargahs at Janpahad

Suryapet's economy is predominantly agricultural. It is one of the major trading centers for the farmers from the Telangana region. Agricultural market yard in Suryapet is one of busiest and biggest in the state. Suryapet has several small- to medium-scale industries.

Industrial Estate

To the east of the city, some area is entirely dedicated for the industries and is popularly known as Industrial Estate. In and around this area there are industries like

Bindu packaged Drinking Water

Sun Mineral water.

Suven Life Science

Eenadu Info (including Eenadu newspaper, Suryapet unit)

Roopa Plastic (PVC) Industries

Sneha Chemicals Pvt. Ltd

Sudhakar Polymers ltd

ESSGE Plastics

Raathi Pipes & Profiles Ltd.

Sudahaker PVC

suwarna pvc

Gayathri powers

Srinidhi Communications

Raghavendra Industries

Galaxy group ltd

Maruthi Industries

Sri Laxmi Binny Rice Mill

Balaji Marketing Services

The South India Aluminum Company Ltd.

Gouthami Parboiled Rice Industries( Nuka Ravi Shankar Gupta)

Motilal Oswal Securities Ltd (Share Market)contact

Navodaya Agro Traders (fertiliser,Pestisides & Seeds)


SRMT Transport Ltd

Navata Transport

Kranthi Road Transport

VRL Logistics


TVS Transport

Market yard

Agricultural market yard in Suryapet is one of busiest and biggest in the state. There is new agriculture market which is about 30 acres (100,000 m2) of land is ready to open for farmers on Khammam Road. In which old(present) agricultural market laid at market road is doing its service for farmers since decades. Current Market is one of the biggest

Suryapet Revenue Division Mandals - 14
Athmakur (S)
Palakeedu* Miryalaguda

Kodad Revenue Division Mandals - 9
Huzurnagar Miryalaguda
Kodad Suryapet
Mattampally Miryalaguda
Mellachervu Suryapet
Chinthalapalem* (Mallareddygudem)